Lucy’s Tales… Buddy Holly

     We arrived in Lubbock, Texas late on a hot and rainy night.   My first impression of the birthplace of Buddy Holly was not that exciting only big trucks and an empty motel.   Mom checked us into a La Quinta Inn (dogs stay free!) near the highway.  It was my second night on the road… (*)

    The next morning brought heat, humidity and still more lingering rain.   Lubbock was not a city that I particularly liked from what I could see. The only site that my mom really wanted us to visit was Buddy Holly’s grave.  We stopped for gas where everyone stared and pointed at me.   Really? Have they never seen a dog?!

     After 2 wrongs turns (thanks to the GPS “lady”) we finally found the cemetery (the first of many on our trip).   It was a relatively plain cemetery but clean and spacious.   It was still drizzling rain when mom found the grave.   Oh, and have I mentioned that I do not like the rain?…  I did not particularly cooperate when mom got me out of the truck.    First, I did not want to be out in the rain and two, I did not want to be in a cemetery.  With umbrella in hand, mom and I walked to the grave.   What do you do at a grave exactly?    Mom whipped out her iPhone to take a couple of shots then I reluctantly (picture me with front paws dug in ground and my body strongly attempting to go backwards) posed for my pic at the gravesite.  As if that was not enough, now she wanted a pic of both of us in front of grave (the first on MANY pics of us together in front of lots of crazy things!) but I did not want to cooperate.  So she gave in to me (with rain on my side) and we left heading for the New Mexico border and our next adventure.

(*) Lucy went on a 6 week road trip in summer of 2010 – 15 states, 8000+ miles –  just her and her mom

This is my take on Buddy Holly and his legacy…

  • Born Charles Hardin Holley on Sept 7, 1936 in Lubbock, Texas
  • Died Feb 3, 1959 in airplane crash at age of 22
  • Known professionally as Buddy Holly (his grave shows original spelling)
  • His success only lasted one and half years
  • His music (although) brief influenced The Beatles, The Rolling Stones, Bob Dylan, and Eric Clapton to name a few.
  • In first group to be inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1986
  • His style was influenced heavily by a performance of Elvis Presley that he witnessed in Lubbock in 1955 as an opening act
  • Performed at the Apollo Theatre with his group The Crickets in Aug 16-22, 1957
  • One of the first musicians in the genre to write, produce, and perform his own songs
  • Was married at time of death – no children
  • His death inspired the 1971 song “American Pie” by Don McLean and thus began the reference to his death as… ‘the day the music died’

One thought on “Lucy’s Tales… Buddy Holly

Leave a Reply

